Jim Daopoulus says officials made ‘bad mistake’ at end of Pats-Panthers
NBC Sports officiating consultant Jim Daopoulus (@RefereeJimD) joined the show to share his thoughts on the final play of the Panthers-Patriots game last night when officials picked up a flag on what looked like interference by Carolina.
“I thought it was a bad mistake,” Daopoulus said. “And bad communication on that crew.”
Daopoulus thougth there was no way you could call that an uncatchable pass. “I was very frustrated when they were saying it was an uncatchable pass,” Daopoulus said.
Daopoulus explained that the ball clearly has to be where the receiver absolutely cannot make a catch. Daopoulus said that NFL receivers sometimes make incredible catches so you have to be careful on judging something is uncatchable.